CyVerse

Purpose

CyVerse is a 10-year, 100 million dollar NSF project to develop and operate computational resources in support of grand challenges in the life sciences. In partnership with the University of Arizona and Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, TACC unifies seamless identity management, petascale storage, cloud and distributed computing, web service APIs with expertise in application and workflow optimization to provide national-scale foundational cyberinfrastructure and tools to life sciences researchers across the United States and internationally.

Why does CyVerse exist?

How do we feed a growing world? The human population is increasing, while farmland decreases and food cultivation competes with fuel production. In addition, climate change and energy sustainability impact agriculture, ecology, and biodiversity. Developing solutions to these problems means understanding how the organisms that contribute to our food, fuels, and ecosystem are shaped by the interactions between their genetics and the environment. By enabling biologists to do data-driven science by providing them with powerful computational infrastructure for handling huge datasets and complex analyses, CyVerse fills a niche created by the computing epoch and a rapidly evolving world.   

CyVerse at-a-Glance

  • Established by the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) in 2008 to develop cyberinfrastructure for life sciences research and democratize access to U.S. supercomputing capabilities.
  • A virtual organization lead by The University of Arizona, Texas Advanced Computing Center, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, and University of North Carolina at Wilmington.
  • Developing the national cyberinfrastructure for data-intensive biology driven by high-throughput sequencing, phenotypic and environmental datasets.
  • Providing powerful extensible platforms for data storage, bioinformatics, image analyses, cloud services, APIs, and more.
  • Making broadly applicable cyberinfrastructure resources available across the life science disciplines (e.g., plants, animals, and microbes).

To deliver the most useful tools and cyberinfrastructure for life science research today, CyVerse depends upon community input. CyVerse is of, by, and for the community; community-driven needs and requirements shape and focus CyVerse’s mission. CyVerse relies on your feedback to provide the cyberinfrastructure you need most to advance your science.

Related Links

  • Agave API
  • Matthew W. Vaughn, Phd (PI)

    Director of Life Sciences Computing
    vaughn@tacc.utexas.edu | 512-232-7124

    Anne Bowen, PhD

    Research Engineering/ Scientist Associate
    adb@tacc.utexas.edu

    James Carson, PhD

    Research Associate
    jcarson@tacc.utexas.edu | 512-475-7887

    Rion Dooley, PhD

    Manager of Web and Cloud Services
    dooley@tacc.utexas.edu

    Maria Esteva, PhD

    Research Associate
    maria@tacc.utexas.edu

    John Fonner, PhD

    Research Associate
    fonner@tacc.utexas.edu

    Matthew Hanlon

    Manager of Web and Mobile Applications
    mrhanlon@tacc.utexas.edu

    Chris Jordan

    Manager, Data Management & Collections
    ctjordan@tacc.utexas.edu | 512-232-3755

    Sivakumar "Siva" Kulasekaran

    Research Engineering/Scientist Associate
    siva@tacc.utexas.edu

    Steve Mock

    Director of Advanced Computing Interfaces
    mock@tacc.utexas.edu

    Dan Stanzione

    Executive Director
    dan@tacc.utexas.edu | 512-471-2763

    Joe Stubbs, PhD

    Research Engineering/ Scientist Associate
    jstubbs@tacc.utexas.edu

    Steve Terry

    Java Middleware and Web Developer
    sterry@tacc.utexas.edu | 512-475-9411

    Weijia Xu, PhD

    Manager, Data Mining & Statistics
    xwh@tacc.utexas.edu