Advanced Computing for Social Change Institute (ACSCI)

ACSCI offers unique opportunities for undergraduate students who want to enhance their skill set and create positive change in their community.

The weeklong program recruits students from diverse disciplines and backgrounds who want to work collaboratively to:

  • Learn to apply data analysis and computational thinking to a social challenge
  • Experience the latest tools and techniques for exploring data through visualization
  • Expand skills in team-based problem solving
  • Learn how to communicate ideas more effectively to the general public


Students will be assigned to teams to ensure a balance of backgrounds, and an advisor will be assigned to each team. The costs of airfare, lodging, meals, and conference registration (when applicable) will be provided. Eligibility requirements:

  • Be currently enrolled as a full-time undergraduate student at an accredited U.S. college or university
  • Not plan to graduate the semester before or two months after the program
  • Have a minimum overall GPA of at least 2.5/4.0 (or equivalent)
  • Be able to participate in all program training and activities
  • Complete the online application form before the deadline
  • Students from any undergraduate major are eligible. No prior programming experience is required.

2024 Important Dates

3/1/2024 - 7/30/2024:
Application & Selection Period

8/1/2024 - 10/30/2024:
Onboarding and training

11/3/2024 - 11/8/2024:
ACSC, Location to be determined

Executive Committee and Training Team

Linda Akli, Sustainable Horizons Institute
Jay Alameda, National Center for Supercomputing Applications
Marques Bland, Texas Advanced Computing Center
Rylan Chong, Chaminade University of Honolulu
Linda DeStefano, Georgia Institute of Technology
Susan Fratkin, Fratkin Associates
John Holly
Dawn Hunter, Texas Advanced Computing Center
Kelly Gaither, Texas Advanced Computing Center
Rosalia Gomez, Texas Advanced Computing Center
Katherine Cahill, Ohio Supercomputing Center
Kahoali`i Keahi-Wood, Chaminade University of Honolulu
Je’aime Powell, Texas Advanced Computing Center
Virginia Truehart, Texas Advanced Computing Center