About Header

HPCwire Reveals the 2013 People to Watch

SAN DIEGO, Calif., Jan. 25 – HPCwire, the #1 news and information portal covering the entire ecosystem of High Performance Computing (HPC) announced today that it has published the ‘HPCwire People to Watch 2013'  list. The annual list is comprised of an elite group of the best and brightest minds in HPC whose research, dedication and hard work will be making a difference in the HPC community and in the world with their contributions.

TACC Director Jay Boisseau named one of HPCwire's People to Watch.

The annual selections are made following an extensive review process by the HPCwireeditorial and executive staff, recommendations from past recipients, and with guidance from industry analysts and luminaries across the HPC community.

"This is an annual special feature that we take very seriously. A significant amount of time and effort is dedicated towards a review and deliberation process by a panel of global experts before the final selections are made," said Jeff Hyman, President and Group Publisher, HPCwire. "Taking into consideration the sheer magnitude of the contributions that these brilliant men and women are making through their work with HPC and emerging technologies, makes it harder each year to limit the list to only twelve individuals. It's truly an honor for me to be able to announce today the men and women we believe will impact and influence the future of High Performance Computing in 2013 and beyond. Congratulations."

The HPCwire People to Watch 2013 list pays tribute the following talented men and women from government, science, academia, business, and industry (in alphabetical order):

  • John ("Jay") R. Boisseau, Director of the Texas Advanced Computing Center (TACC) at The University of Texas at Austin

  • Diane M. Bryant, vice president and general manager of the Datacenter and Connected Systems Group (DCSG) Intel Corp. 

  • Dona Crawford, Associate Director for the Computation Directorate, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL)

  • William (Bill) D. Gropp, Director of Parallel Computing Institute, Deputy Director for Research, Institute of Advanced Computing Applications and Technologies, Director, Paul and Cynthia Saylor Professor of Computing Science, Computer Science Department

  • Summit Gupta, General Manager, Tesla GPU Accelerated Computing, NVIDIA

  • John Gustafson, Senior Fellow, Chief Product Architect, AMD

  • William (Bill) Kramer, Deputy Project Manager, Blue Waters Project, Illinois' National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA)

  • Henry Markram, Director, Blue Brain Project École Polytechnique Fédérale

  • Cynthia McIntyre, Senior Vice President, Council on Competitiveness 

  • Thomas Sterling, Professor of Informatics and Computing, Indiana University. Chief Scientist and Executive Associate Director, CREST 

  • Peter Ungaro, CEO, Cray Inc.

  • Weimin Zheng, Director of Research and Professor, Department of Computer Science and Technology, Tsinghua University

To view the entire feature and learn more about the backgrounds, contributions, and the impact that these individuals are making in High Performance Computing that are changing the world, visit HPCwire's ‘People to Watch 2013'.

Listen to the Podcast: HPCwire People to Watch in 2013


Date Posted: 2013-01-25 - HPCwire

Share |